Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math- OH MY!

If someone asked me, at the beginning of high school, what I pictured my college career to look like the words “all women’s college” would not have come out of my mouth. Many high school girls won’t even consider looking at an all women’s college and it’s really a shame. With less than two months left till graduation I can honestly say that my choice to attend an all women’s college was the best decision I could have ever made. The sense of community, pride, and passion is completely overwhelming (in a good way). In your most vital years, you are granted the opportunity to grow and develop the skills necessary to succeed in a male dominated world in an environment where women are the focus. In a co-ed world there is nowhere else you will ever get that experience.

On a blog search about a month ago I came across this blog entry that particularly caught my attention. There were two things that I loved about this blog. One, it is the AAUW (American Association of University Women) blog. AAUW has been in existence for 130 years. With 100,000 members/donors, 1,000 branches, and 500 member institutions AAUW works to break down educational and economic barriers to help women have a fair chance at success. There are so many awesome things that AAUW does that I couldn’t possibly mention it all here, so check out their website for yourself- I dare you.

Secondly, this blog entry also talks about STEM. This program encourages women to pursue careers in science, technology, engineering, and math. I will be the first one to tell you that I’m definitely not science/math inclined but I have always deeply admired people who are. There is no denying that these fields are male dominated. AAUW tries to encourage women to break into these fields by providing graduate fellowships, grants, and conducting research to diminish these barriers. Check out more information about STEM here.

I absolutely love that there are organizations out there that are encouraging women to be ‘lipstick confident’ because we could use all the help we can get. A little support and encouragement goes a long way.

Now, go practice your ‘lipstick confidence’ and remember to follow my blog on Twitter, @lconfidence.

2 thoughts on “Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math- OH MY!

  1. Wow..call me naive but I didn’t even know all women Universities existed!
    You do learn something new everyday! 🙂
    I really like this post..I am at University studying Engineering and the large majority are guys (there are 5 girls I believe and 130+ guys)..and it’s an amazing industry to get into..I enjoy it very much!

    Congratulations on your graduation 🙂

Leave a Reply

