A New Year, A “New” Blog.

The New Year always makes everyone re-evaluate where they are in life, what they are doing, and where they want to be in the future. In part of my own re-evaluation process I took a look back at this blog and saw that it had changed, evolved, and advanced since I first started writing it. Therefore, I feel inclined to change the purpose of this blog a little bit in order to let this blog evolve naturally. When I first started writing I was a senior in college trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life. I felt a little lost, uneasy, and uncertain. I turned to writing this blog for myself. If I was going to go out in the real world, try to get a job, and start socializing with real life adults I needed to know how to carry myself, how to act, what was expected of me and most of all- build more self-confidence. College teaches you a lot of invaluable things but what about how to act in certain social situations? What’s expected of me at a wedding, funeral, traveling, or at a restaurant? How about how to host a party, or being a good guest, or how to start a simple conversation? So, here we are. Lipstick Confidence became a blog for young women filled with etiquette tips and lessons on these very subjects and more.

Soon enough I felt myself wanting to expand. I started talking about individual women who are doing really amazing things. Every girl wants someone to look up to, someone who they can relate to, someone that will push them to be a better “you.” The expansion didn’t stop there. I went on to talk about current events that impact women as well. Sometimes we get so stuck in our own little bubble we don’t realize what is happening right outside our door. Not only do we miss seeing the injustices but we also miss seeing the good as well. I found myself wanting to share every story, good or bad, I heard about anything pertaining to women with my readers. And the expansion isn’t stopping there.

Here I am today- a teeny-weeny bit wiser, married, and a home-owner (boy, can a lot change in just about two years). Change is good. Change allows for the opportunity to reinvent yourself. Lipstick Confidence will certainly remain what it always was- a sort of self-help-real-world-survival-guide. But, I’m ready for version 2.0! My blog is now expanding it’s mission. I want Lipstick Confidence to be a sort of safe haven for all women. A place where they can come to get advice, be updated on current events, browse the latest fashion trends, see what other awesome women are doing, get health/fitness tips, find great books to read, get home decor inspiration- anything and everything that a woman may need. Yes, this means more work for me, more research, more blog posts, and more time but I’m ready for this change.

I personally believe that there are many different skills every woman must feel comfortable with, along with many different aspects of being a confident woman. No matter how big or small, from baking a cake to conducting an important board meeting, you will be able to find it here.

Welcome to the new and improved, Lipstick Confidence!

Leave a Reply

